Quote Challenge #day1

Hey everyone!

So I have been nominated to do the quote challenge. (Here’s the post where I was nominated in https://missmoodygirl.wordpress.com/2016/02/17/day-3-quote-challenge/)

The challenge:

  1. Post in three consecutive days.
  2. You can pick one or three quotes per day.
  3. Challenge three different bloggers per day.

(obviously because I’m lazy I am doing one quote per day)

 

The quote I have chosen today is:

“Not all my scars show. Not all my wounds heal. Sometimes you can’t see, the pain someone feels.” ~ Lisa French

I think this quote is a really powerful one because it shows just how much people can hide from the rest of the world. You might think you know someone very well, but what you think you know is the person they are on the outside. You don’t see the person inside. And you never will. The person on the outside is there to protect the inside, like a shell. You might get to know a person really well and you like them for their personality and how they smile all the time. But how do you know that the person that you are so fond of is just fake? You don’t. You can begin to learn about the real person if you stick around for long enough, but most people don’t. So instead of the real person inside getting torn apart or broken every time someone leaves, they have built a wall to save them from the outside world.

This wouldn’t be a real post if I didn’t add my own personal story or experience in it. So here’s a story for you. I think 2 people reading this have already heard this story because it kind of just fitted to the conversation at the time, but it fits in to this quote so I will repeat it.

I was on a school trip where we had to stay at this outdoor adventure centre thing for 3 days. I’m not too good with school trips, especially the ones where you have to stay overnight (I’m kind of stupid because I always agree to go on them). This is usually because every day in school I am a fake person. I put on a fake smile and I pretend to be someone I am not. It works out pretty well as some people seem to like the fake me. This is pretty hard when you have to live with the very people that you are scared of finding out about you and the person you protect inside. You are scared about them knowing that you are just one mess of fakeness.

So on the last night that we were there I just got so overwhelmed with having to fake being the person that i am not, that I couldn’t help but break the protective shell around me. You may think that this was a good thing as I was more real to people and everyone could learn to like the real me. But it was the complete opposite. You see, even I am afraid of the real me. I started fighting with my friends, I stopped caring about what I said to other people and I hurt the one person who had been there for me since the beginning. One of my friends approached me when I had walked away from everyone. This is what she said: “Why can’t you go back to being the happy you that is always smiling in school?” I replied with one line that probably made her rethink everything she thought she knew about me, “that me is fake. This is the real me. You should get used to it.” Then there was silence.

I’m just going to end on one piece of advice for you reading this. Be careful about how you treat people and what you say to them. You don’t know what is on their mind and you don’t know how much your words could be adding to their pain. Try to be nice to everyone and take the time out to ask how someone is feeling  and just make them smile. You never know, it could be the only time they had smiled that day.

The bloggers I nominate to do this challenge are:

  1. Misfit Spirit
  2. Stay Strong Beautifulxxx
  3. SyedaFR

 

Thank you to supergirl2000 for nominating me! 

I’m sorry this was like a day late, it was because all of yesterday my Wi-Fi was down so I couldn’t get on to the internet.

I look forward to reading your posts and have an awesome day wherever you are. Until tomorrow then.

Wadz x 

 

 

6 comments

  1. disdailydose · February 21, 2016

    Sometimes we are so wrapped within our own hurt we fail to remember what an impact we can have on others

    Liked by 1 person

    • Strikedbyepicness · February 22, 2016

      That is so true and we do it unknowingly, so much so that we turn around at the end of it all and wonder why they all left. But the ones who are real will not leave. They will stay till the end, no matter how much of an impact we have had on them. I still hope to find this person.

      Like

  2. disdailydose · February 21, 2016

    You guys are truly awesome! I needed this today!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Strikedbyepicness · February 22, 2016

      Glad that I could have been of assistance! This is probably the reaction that I wanted when starting this blog. For someone to tell me that they really needed this and I helped them. I couldn’t have wished for more. Thank you.

      Like

  3. supergirl2000 · February 19, 2016

    I knew someone who was always smiling and joking. Even after he died, that’s how everyone knew him. But I knew beneath that was someone who was deeply hurting and sad. He never revealed that part of himself to anyone but me. I’m glad I was there for him, but I just wish others could see beneath the shield, and maybe if he had, he would have gotten the help he needed, and he would have found the strength to quit drinking.
    I hope your friends have come back around, or that you’ve found new friends to accept all of you.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Strikedbyepicness · February 22, 2016

      My friends have come back around and since that day I had really found the people who were my real friends. It’s really important to have even one person who knows the real you and who accepts you for who you are. You might have to smile and laugh and joke to everyone else, but to that one person you are not afraid to show your real identity. Thank you for reading the post and have an awesome day!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

