The reason.

Hello people reading this. Hope you are having an awesome day. So.. Some of you may be wondering the reason as to why I decided to sit here typing this on my rubbish laptop as if someone in the world is going to be reading. I have hope that at least one person out there is reading my blog and can relate to it. Like I know some people set it up to just talk about random stuff and be themselves. And don’t get me wrong that’s completely fine. I probably set it up for them reasons too. But there is one main reason. A reason that most people say that they want to do, but are too scared to fulfil it. ‘I want to change the world.’

I know you might be thinking, Oh Ma Gawsh! Not her too going off on one saying that she wants to like change the world and everything.. Psshhh as if that is ever gonna happen. (You’re totally saying that right now). But I really do want to change the world. To be specific I want to change the way people think. Prepare yourselves for a journey through one tiny bit of my mind. (There’s a hell of a lot more.)

People are very stereotypical and most of the time, depending on the way they are brought up or the things they have experienced, it comes to them naturally. Example. Say a man with tattoos and piercings wearing a hoodie and baggy jeans is walking on the same side of the road to you. Would you or would you not cross the road? Why? Because he is dangerous or he might be a thug or he might attack you or he might be in a gang? Why? These thoughts automatically come to our mind because we associate certain features with certain things. The tattoos with being dangerous. The hoodie with being in a gang or being a thug. Yes, they might dress like that. But it does not mean that everyone else who dresses like that is “one of them.” I like wearing hoodies and I would say that I’m your pretty average teenager. Well not “your” average teenager because god knows what kind of vision of teenagers you have in your mind. I want people to see the person they are inside, instead of their outward appearance.

I also want to be the kind of person to say that you know what, it’s okay to be “messed up.” It’s okay to do what you want to do and no one else can say anything because it is what’s making you happy. Basically this blog. I mean you could be saying that there is better people’s blogs to be reading. But speaking to people when you are not actually talking is making me happy. It’s almost as though I’ve made a good impression on that person and now the only things you associate ‘Strikedbyepicness’ is nice stuff and encouragement and too not judge. Okay let’s say that you want to spend all night partying because it makes you happy and it’s your way of getting freedom from everything else in your life. You go ahead and do that anyone who tries to stop you, punch them. (Don’t actually do that, but you know what I mean).

Something that actually really inspired me these past few days was the music video to Kids in the dark by All Time Low. Here’s the link if you want to watch it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SaIegdJxTsE  I had actually seen it ages ago but recently it made me feel as though I want to do the same as the people in the video. (You’re not ganna understand me fully if you haven’t watched it!) See I’m making you do stuff now. It’s kind of like a party/ throw paint at everyone/ mega fun awesomeness that the ‘kids in the dark’ throw to help everyone to escape from their crap lives. They basically provide the happiness in every person’s life. I want to do that. I want to be the reason someone has a smile on their face or has a reason to live. I want to throw a ‘kids in the dark’ party. And all of you are invited! 🙂

I’m just ganna end this long post with giving you a personal experience. I’m in high school. I personally think that it is too early waking up at 7am and putting any effort in your appearance what so ever. Most people disagree. They will say that they need to look their best at all times. I can see the difference between how people treat me and how people treat others. I can see people avoiding me or not talking to me based on my appearance and because I’m not the prettiest of them all. But I come with good intentions and a non-judgemental attitude and people don’t see that. All they see is the tramp-y, fat girl who is anti-social and not fun to be around. Yes, I am anti-social and don’t know how to talk to people or carry on a conversation, but there are reasons behind that. Reasons which you couldn’t think about because you’re too busy washing out your eyes because you saw me in the corridor. But that’s for another post.

I know I’m not the best blogger or writer but I want to get the message out and for people to see me for who I am. Because everyone is unique. And who knows you might share the same aspirations as me and you might find me fun to read. (I doubt it). The only way is people knowing about me and my mission to change the world, and you can help me. Please tell people or send them a link of my blog and who knows one day we might just throw our own kids in the dark party. Thank you if you read this I really appreciate it.

I know it’s probably the most said quote and all but just remember, never judge a book by it’s cover.

Love Wadz x

“Who knows the dreams we would be able to achieve? Who knows how much we can change the world? Who knows? Only you do.” ~ W

Oh and I forgot to ask. What do you guys think of my username ‘strikedbyepicness’? (It’s pronounced striked-by-epic-ness).

14 comments

  1. amy111rose · March 1, 2016

    To change the world…not only do I love that statement, I feel the same way and believe you can do it. I hope you hold the same belief in yourself!! I remember being a teenager, I had the “look” on the outside, but inside I was mixed up/messed up and quite similar to you. If u don’t believe in yourself just yet, you will in time. As I’ve grown up, I’ve grown as a person. And you will too! I look forward to reading more and connecting with you.
    Amy💕

    Liked by 1 person

    • Strikedbyepicness · March 3, 2016

      I’m glad I found someone who feels the same way about the world as I do! I hope I do grow up to believe in myself and only then will I be able to achieve my goal.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. misfitspirit · January 20, 2016

    Let me just add, I was skinny in school and still got made fun of. The bitch of it is, almost everyone gets messed with. Whether it’s the all black wearing bisexual (me) getting asked if she’s a witch or the popular girl getting every part of her outfit torn apart by her “friends”. That’s the sucky truth. EVERYONE gets picked at. But the thing about ridicule is it alienates people. It MAKES you feel alone, like everyone has chosen you as their scapegoat, source of entertainment, or punching bag. High school is a brutal time. I DESPISED it. The thing that honestly helped me the most was finding two like minded women and we became an unbreakable group. Those women helped me survive the rest of grade school.

    Carabiensplash is right. It does get better. I’m 25 now and I love myself and my life. But it took a little work. Focus more on what is good about you. Not the bad. Realize that the old saying “Hurt people hurt people” is actually true. It is far easier to make you the target than to look inside themselves and see their own flaws and secrets. I was thoroughly surprised when I read that you’re 17. You have wisdom beyond your years. That was something people also said to me at your age and I always thought “Well a lot of good that does me”. But it will. I promise. Writing was a big thing for me personally that helped me at your age (and still does now). Keep it up. No one in the world has your voice and mind but you. Respect that and use it.

    “You only get one spark of madness. You mustn’t lose it.”
    -Robin Williams

    Liked by 1 person

    • Strikedbyepicness · January 20, 2016

      Thank you for taking the time to write such an inspiring piece. I can agree that almost everyone gets picked on and pushed around. But it affects people in different ways. Some people just brush it off as if it is nothing and some people take it to heart and believe everything that they say. I was one of the people who took it to heart and let it affect me. But I have now realised that I should do good with the rest of my life and make it the best that it can be. I don’t want my whole life to be wasted just thinking about why I am so ugly and fat all the time. I want to benefit someone else and make them happy. “I want to inspire people. I want someone to look at me and say ‘because of you I didn’t give up’.” I will take your advice on board and definitely give this world everything I have. I will try my hardest never to lose my spark of madness. Thank you.
      (By the way, I am 15)

      Like

      • misfitspirit · January 20, 2016

        Holy shit! 15?! Good for you. And while I agree that some people just brush it off, I don’t think it’s as many as you may think. (Lots of thinks in there lol). As I got older and more developed into myself I started attracting all kinds of people. I noticed you like my “I am a recovering addict” post. Well because of being a recovering addict I have met many, many kinds of people. While I was using and since I got clean. And these people are everything from lawyers, to teachers, to models, to straight up under the bridge junkies. They were popular, hated, ridiculed, cheerleading captains. And the one thing that I here most often is that they “never felt they fit in.” Or they were “made fun of”. And all of them were effected. I don’t think it’s that some people aren’t effected, I think they’re better at hiding it. Now I have to actual statistics to back this up. But what I do have is 25 years of meeting A LOT of people. On top of being a recovering addict I’m also a tattoo artist. And you meet thousands of people and hear their stories in my field. And I’ve heard a lot of the same there. My point is, everyone has their demons. No one knows what they’re doing. We’re all just lost little fishies in a big, mean bowl. BUT if you can just embrace yourself, you will find happiness. Happiness doesn’t come from being accepted by others, as you would still have to accept yourself. It doesn’t come from being liked, as you would still have to like yourself. It comes from within. Embracing whatever you are and fucking owning it. Excuse my language lol. My best friend in the entire world is 5’9″ and 280 lbs. and she’s the best thing that ever happened to me. I wouldn’t be alive without her. I’ve introduced her to many people she wouldn’t have otherwise talked to over the last 12 years and they all ADORED her.

        So give it some thought. My personal solution to grade school ridicule was my quick wit and dry humor. If someone said “Ew. You wear black lipstick. What are you, gothic?!” I’d just say “Yup. And I hail Satan and sacrifice kittens. None of which was true but their look of shock was a personal victory lol. And maybe I didn’t handle it the best. There’s probably thousands of people on here who would strongly disagree with me and many psychologists who would have more mainstream advice. But that’s just my experience. I was always thinking and writing and I’ve always been sarcastic. So I used that as my armor and stuck with the people I liked who liked me. All you need in this world is one true friend. Who cares about the rest? Defend yourself. Because no one else ever will. Use their bullshit to thicken your skin, not dampen your spirit.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Strikedbyepicness · January 21, 2016

          Thank you for your advice and for giving me some personal experiences aswell. I think it’s really important to hear other people’s perspective on things that you know they will understand, and see what they have to say for it. You are older than me and have much much more experience and I feel like I can learn from you. I will try my hardest to not care what people think and just carry on being yourself. I know it takes time to finally accept yourself and be comfortable with who you are, but I am willing to give in that time. I find you and your blog very inspiring and I applaud you for going through all of that and coming out happy and content with who you are. I find it better to hear from people who know with their own experiences rather than someone who thinks they know how you feel. You have really inspired me to carry on fighting on not caring about people or what they think. Thank you.

          Liked by 1 person

          • misfitspirit · January 21, 2016

            You’re welcome babe. The way I figure it a lifetime full of shit can either make me stronger and allow me to help people or break me. And I was not going with the second.

            Liked by 1 person

  3. carabiensplash · January 11, 2016

    I read this post and thought “This is an intelligent person.” I’m not a teenager, in fact, I just turned 56 a couple months ago. Maybe you don’t want to hear from an “old lady”, but your post made me think about a few things. The part about the guy with the tattoos & hoodie. Of course people will instantly judge him. It’s instinct, involuntary and a self defense mechanism. He may be a great guy once you talk to him. But the first instant is based on instinct. My question is why does he project that image? Does he not purposely have tattoos and a hoodie to look a certain way? To get a certain reaction? He may have a great smile and then you’re like, “Oh, he’s ok.” But then you see a tattoo that says “Death to women.” Then what? Oh well, we can build all sorts of scenarios. Personally, I wouldn’t cross the street, but would be on guard, and that would be with just about anyone; unfortunately in these times.
    It made me sad that you put yourself down in your post. You’re obviously a very intelligent girl. What you look like shouldn’t matter. But in high school, I know it does. It’s difficult at a young age, honestly even throughout life, to be able to say to the negative, toxic people “I don’t need you. I am who I am and if you don’t like it, you don’t have to be here”. Trust me. It’s taken me a while to get there. There will be plenty of people who won’t shun you or have to “wash their eyes out”. Your intelligence and personality are the most powerful things you have, and they will grow in maturity as you do. One of my most favorite quotes is “Be Who You Are And Not Who Someone Else Wants You To Be.” It’s a tough task, but it is do-able. Best of luck to you! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Strikedbyepicness · January 11, 2016

      Thank you first of all for taking the time to read my post and for writing such an amazing response. You said about how I put myself down in my own post. It’s how I have been made to feel by others. I try so hard to try to be myself and ignore what people say, but it really gets to me. I wish I could get to the point where you are and finally be able to say that “I am who I am and if you don’t like it, you don’t have to be here.” I really wish I could reach there one day. Thank you very much for your inspiring advice and I wish you well for the future. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • carabiensplash · January 12, 2016

        I know it’s really hard, and I’m so sorry that it’s like that. Not only for you but a lot of young people in school. I wish there was a way to change it. I don’t know how much longer you have in high school. But believe me when I say it’ll get better. High school is a small nucleus compared to the world which is huge. People mature and have other things to deal with. Something that I’ve learned about mean people – it’s not about you, it’s always about them. They are mean to other people because it takes the focus off of them and whatever insecurities they are trying to hide. And for a few seconds it gives them a sense of superiority (because they feel inferior and insecure). While their friends are looking at someone else who is fat,tall, skinny, brown, green or whatever, then they are not looking at the person who pointed out the one who is fat,tall, skinny, etc. If someone is pointing out something different about you it’s because they are hiding some insecurity about themselves. I consider them pathetic and feel sorry for them because they don’t know how to deal with those insecurities without hurting someone else. JMHO. By the way, I was teased in school because I was tall & skinny. My son was bullied in school and he was tall & skinny. So it doesn’t matter what you look like. They’re most likely targeting anyone they can.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Strikedbyepicness · January 13, 2016

          Thank you for the advice and I will try my absolute hardest to try to forget whatever they say and now blame myself. I kind of feel sorry for people who tease others because they are not happy with themselves and I think that is one thing that everyone should at least have. It may hurt me a lot but without it I would not be sat here writing on this blog. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Strikedbyepicness · January 6, 2016

    Thank you x at least I know that I have one other person on board

    Like

Leave a Reply

